Tejas Star
Tejas Star Book Award
The Tejas Star Book Award is now the Tejas Star Book List by the Texas Library Association (TLA): http://www.txla.org/tejas-star
The Tejas Star Book Award was created by the Region One ESC Library Advisory Committee to promote reading in general and for readers to discover the cognitive and economic benefits of bilingualism and multilingualism. All the children of Texas had the opportunity to select their favorite book from the Tejas Star list during the month of February.
2012-13 Tejas Star Book List
Winner: Marisol McDonald Doesn't Match/Marisol McDonald no combina
Author: Monica Brown
Illustrator: Sara Palacios
Winner: The Runaway Piggy/El cochinito fugitivo
Author: James Luna
Illustrator: Laura Lacámara
2010-2011 Tejas Star Book List
Winner: No Time for Monsters/No hay Tiempo para Monstruos
Author: Spelile Rivas
Illustrator: Valeria Cervantes
Winner: Charro Claus and the Tejas Kid
Author: Xavier Garza
Winner: Lucha Libre: The Man in the Silver Mask: A Bilingual Cuento
Author: Xavier Garza
Winner: Juan and the Chupacabras/Juan y el Chupacabras
Author: Xavier Garza
Last Modified on March 21, 2014