• The Region One Special Education Department serves as the first point of contact for school districts, parents and other community stakeholders and will provide technical assistance, support, and training in the area of special education to school districts based on the results of a comprehensive needs assessment and collaborative planning.  The ESC staff is available to assist in identifying resources and providing technical assistance.  ESC staff may be contacted by phone, e-mail or written correspondence.  Please refer to the Department Staff list below for specific areas of special education support.
     
     
    Todd Larson
    Director of Special Education Programs
    (956) 984-6203
     
     

    Special Education Department Staff


     

    Name

    Area of Support

    Phone #

    E-Mail address

    Todd Larson

    Director Special Education Programs

    (956) 984-6203

    tlarson@esc1.net

    Noelia C. Perez

    Coordinator Special Education Programs

    (956) 984-6202

    noperez@esc1.net

    Dr. Carolina Campos

    Coordinator Regional Services/TEA Special Education Liaison

    (956) 984-6205

    ccampos@esc1.net

    Laura Juarez

    Coordinator Regional Services/TEA Special Education Liaison

    (956) 984-6198

    lajuarez@esc1.net

    Aliber Peña

    Autism, Residential Applications, Non-Educational Funds, CRCG

    (956) 984-6228

    alpena@esc1.net

    Angelica Hinojosa

    Special Education/Laredo Extension Office

    (956) 795-0000

    ahinojosa@esc1.net 

    Claudia Garcia

    Behavior Specialist,  Positive Behavior Support

    (956) 984-6244

    cgarcia@esc1.net 

    Denise Anaya

    Multi-Tiered System of Supports Significant Disproportionality

    (956) 984-6175

    danaya@esc1.net 

    Diana Saenz

    Access to General Curriculum

    (956) 984-6129

    dsaenz@esc1.net 

    Graciela Avalos

    Low Incidence Disabilities

    (956) 984-6253

    gavalos@esc1.net

    Cynthia Luna

    Program Assistant

    (956) 984-6142

    cynluna@esc1.net 

    Jennifer Pesina

    Parent Coordination/Early Childhood Special Education, Facilitated IEP

    (956) 984-6176

    jpesina@esc1.net 

    Josie Reyes

    Secondary Transition and Graduation Deaf and Hard of Hearing

    (956) 984-6164

    joreyes@esc1.net 

    Juanita Lovejoy

    Child Find, Early Childhood Special Education

    (956) 984-6215

    jlovejoy@esc1.net 

    Maria Elena Vega

    Program Assistant

    (956) 984-6241

     mavega@esc1.net

    Martha Bustos Guzman

    Special Education Specialist, Visual Impairments, Orientation and Mobility Services

    (956) 984-6213

    mbustos@esc1.net

    Norma D. Valdez

    Program Assistant

    (956) 795-0000

    nvaldez@esc1.net 

    Ruby Coronado

    Special Education Specialist, Visual Impairments, Orientation and Mobility Services

    (956) 984-6181

     rcoronado@esc1.net

    Rosario Nava

    Educational Diagnostician (Specialist)

    (956) 984-6264

    rnava@esc1.net 

    Ruben Cervantes

    Program Assistant

    (956) 984-6261

     rcervantes@esc1.net 

    Susie Andrews

    Special Education Specialist, Visual Impairments

    (956) 984-6165

    sandrews@esc1.net

     

    Senior Program Assistant

    (956) 984-6206

     

    Vanesa Villagran

    Assistive Technology

    (956) 984-6157

    vvillagran@esc1.net 

    Pedro "Pete" Guardiola

    Driver/Clerk

     

    pguardiola@esc1.net

     
     
     
Last Modified on Thursday at 10:18 PM