Region One ESC Brownsville Extension Office

  • The Brownsville Extension Office is conveniently located to meet the growing demand for professional development needs in the southernmost area of the Region One ESC area. We design and deliver targeted professional development and innovative solutions to educators, students, and parent/community members in public and non-public districts within our cluster.  Our highly skilled staff encourages collaborative and instructional approaches toward the education of diverse learners to include Students with Disabilities and English Learners.

    Services and supports available:

    • Federal program technical assistance and training (EL, GT, CTE, Migrant Education, and Special Education)
    • Core Content Workshops
    • Making Thinking Visible
    • Thematic Approach 
    • Hands-on Activities
    • Vocabulary Development
    • Formative Evaluation
    • Make and Take Sessions
    • Classroom Management sessions
    • Annual WORD Conference 
     
    Districts Served:
      Brownsville ISD, Los Fresnos CISD, Point Isabel ISD, San Benito CISD, Harmony Science Academy, IDEA Academy Brownsville, Ignite Brownsville Center, Jubilee Leadership Academy, Mid-Valley Academy San Benito, Premier High School of Brownsville, Raul Yzaguirre School for Success, Diocese of Brownsville.
     
    The Brownsville Extension Office serves as a liaison to our Region One Edinburg office and provides timely information as well as direct services to our cluster.
    Links: 
     
     
     Bitmoji Staff Picture                              
    From Left to Right: Juliana Simmons. Kathleen Estrada, Edgar Ibarra, Anabel Rangel (Director), Doménica Vela and Benjamin Avalos. 
  • CONTACTS


    Anabel Rangel, Director
    arangel@esc1.net
    (956) 984-6191

    Juliana Simmons, Program Assistant
    jsimmons@esc1.net  
    (956) 984-6191

    Benjamin Avalos, Math Specialist
    bavalos@esc1.net
    (956) 984-6191

    Kathleen Estrada, ELAR Specialist
    kestrada@esc1.net
    (956) 984-2120

    Edgar Ibarra, Bilingual/ESL Specialist
    eibarra@esc1.net
    (956) 984-6191

    Gloria Vela, Bilingual/ESL Specialist
    glvela@esc1.net
    (956) 984-6191

    Mary E. Gonzalez, Texas Lesson Study Specialist 

    magonzalez@esc1.net

    (956)984-6191