Return to Headlines

Statewide Recognition Awards

Superintendent of the Year 

The Superintendent of the Year program honors outstanding administrators for achievement and excellence in public school administration. These school leaders exhibit exemplary and visionary leadership toward improving student performance. They are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving the quality of education in their districts, and commitment to public support and involvement in education.

Guidelines for Superintendent of the Year Award Program
Nominations are due to your respective ESC by 4:30 p.m. on April 21, 2023.

Region One ESC Contact: Dr. Judith M. Solis, 956-984-6150


School Board of the Year 

TASA created the School Boards Awards Program in 1971 to recognize school boards whose dedication and ethical service have made a positive impact on the schoolchildren of Texas. It is an excellent way for districts to recognize their hard-working, dedicated board members. 

TASA School Board Award Program 
Criteria and Guidelines

Nominations due to respective Education Service Center by May 30, 2023. 
Region One ESC contact: Dr. Judith M. Solis, 956-984-6150.


Texas Teacher of the Year 

Since 1969, the Texas Teacher of the Year (TOY) Program has honored excellence in classroom education and provided a forum to showcase many outstanding educators whose efforts and example have inspired their students, their colleagues, and the communities they serve. The Texas Teacher of the Year Program annually recognizes and rewards teachers who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and excellence in teaching.

Guidelines and TOY materials are found here!

The 2024 Teacher Teacher of the Year deadlines are not yet available.
Region One ESC contact: Brenda Mora, or 956-984-285.